Vista Build 5384, Office Beta 2


To be honest I wish I’d never installed Vista beta 2. Vista failed to identify the ethernet card on my portable and Dell desktop. I’d actually go so far as to say the driver support at this stage in the Vista development cycle is rubbish. I’ve been a beta tester on a number of previous Window OS’s, and I can’t recall getting to beta 2 and finding the machines I’ve installed the OS on being unable to access the network/internet.

Office beta 2 – the ribbons are very cool. However, I’m unimpressed that VBA still exists in Excel as the language of choice for code. With the release of CLR 2.0, I would have expected by now that Excel would have native .NET support. So much for making life easier for quants/traders to move towards C#.

Address Space Layout Randomization

~ by mdavey on May 27, 2006.

One Response to “Vista Build 5384, Office Beta 2”

  1. […] To be honest it was expected. The install of Windows Vista RTM on my Dell D620 portable occurred without a hitch – no surprise given that the hardware is less than 3mths old. My Dell desktop was a different kettle of fish. Essentially I had the same driver issues as I’d experience with RC1 and RC2. The root of the problem was that my desktop has a nice 512Mb ATI Radeon X1600 PRO, however when installing Windows Vista RTM the drivers for this card that Microsoft kindly include are version 7.14 dated 21/8/2006, whereas the drivers on ATI’s site are 8.31 dated 2/11/2006. The 7.12 driver appear to cause the Vista install to hang on the driver being loaded; this promptly caused a blue screen of death. This then snowballed into the next problem; the blue screen on appears for about 1-2 seconds before the PC reboots attempting to continue with the installation. The only words I managed to read during this time period was “driver in infinite loop” or similar, which isn’t exactly very helpful. I eventually got Vista installed, but only by following these steps: […]

Leave a Reply

 
