Bloomberg B-PIPE/BPOD


A colleague came across B-PIPE while surfing LinkedIn. I’ve never directly used B-PIPE so was curious to know what it was, but as usual there is hardly anything on the web 😦 This article provides some information, plus Bloomberg’s web site provide minimal information.

Bloomberg B-PIPE™ is a real-time data distribution service enabling customers to seamlessly integrate Bloomberg content with their systems. B-Pipe delivers data from more than 200 exchanges including the New York Stock Exchange, NASD and the Options Price Reporting Authority (OPRA).

Has anyone used B-PIPE? Is it just market data?

~ by mdavey on June 12, 2009.

43 Responses to “Bloomberg B-PIPE/BPOD”

  1. Hey, nice post, really well written. You should post more about this.

  2. i’ve dealt with the api. its an event dispatching model written in C++ using a CORBA ORB called ACE/TAO that i happen to be fond of. with BPIPE u don’t get access to the full set of Reference data company and bloomberg analytics. The better choice with bloomberg is Server API ver 3.x but obviously you don’t get the full market tick by tick pipe. best i’ve come up with for market data solution to get one or more of your exec brokers to give you access to market data through a FIX connection and supplement ref data etc with an abused bloomberg desktop api or Server API if you download enough to be on bloomberg’s radar

  3. BPOD is “B-PIPE On-Demand.” It has an “interactive” market data API.

    Otherwise, yes, it’s a Market Data product. It allows you to receive Bloomberg data embedded in your application.

  4. Caplin evaluated B-PIPE API (and the Server API) a few years back – we were thinking of building a DataSource adapter for pulling market data to desktop equity DMA apps. It’s basically a market data feed for a bunch of primarily equity exchanges – I guess competing with Reuters RDN feed.

    In the end we didn’t use it – instead we came up with an innovative local adapter (called Siphon) that pulled data from the end-user’s own local bloomberg (using the Client API) to feed the installed DMA app, meaning the user (or app provide) only had to pay exchange fees once.

  5. Matt,
    I have the Bloomberg B-Pipe On-Demand documentation. Email me and I will send it to you.

  6. Nico,

    Bloomberg is very particular about how the data you receive from them is stored and (re)transmitted. This also covers documentation. Check that you’re not violating the license agreement by disseminating docs to a non-licensee.

    -Sev

  7. Nico can you please send me a copy of that Bloomberg Documentation — Many thanks
    if you can include and wombat documentation as well that would be extremely helpful
    aarprm@gmail.com

  8. Would like to explore B-Pipe, can you please email documentation to me as well

  9. davey, I would appreciate if you can share a copy of BPIPE documentation with me, what Nico might have shared with you already. Also i need your advise on the below.

    I have been using Bloomberg.API from bloomberg termial to fetch data from bloomberg. If you can help me understand what is the difference between this API and Bloomberg Server API which i have been hearing some rumours on. Just for your info i am very much new to this domain and these systems, i developed a component with Bloomberg API which runs on bloomberg terminal to get data however my colleague mentioned that Bloomberg Server API doesn’t require to run on bloomberg Terminal. Is this true. Awaiting for your response.

    • do you have a copy of the B-PIPE documentation which you could forward to me? thanks in advance …

  10. Hi Nico, I would be very interested in viewing the documentation. May you please send it to me as well

  11. plz send me the documentation on client and server
    api for Bloomberg trading system

  12. Is anybody guys can help me with suggestion how to receive my trades from BBG. I need to develop STP interface between BBG and Back Office & Settlement system. So, when the trade is booked, I want to receive a trading execution record via my interface and to process the trade. thanks

    • Jordan,

      I have been working with Bloomberg B-Pipe for the last 5 years. Our company developed feed handlers for both B-Pipe feeds (broadcast and on demand) and had them platinum authorized from Bloomberg. Please shoot me an email @ a(at)uzunov(dot)com and I would be glad to help you.

      A~

  13. […] Bloomberg B-PIPE/BPOD June 200926 comments 5 […]

  14. Hi Nico, I would be very interested in viewing the documentation. May you please send it to me as well

  15. http://www.openbloomberg.com/open-api/

  16. Solid article. I study something similar here at
    University of Missouri. It’s definitely helpful to learn new things from fellow writers and collect expertise from new sources. I’d like to incorporate some of this information on my own page (if you don’t mind). And of course, I’ll offer a link to your site at wordpress.
    com on my own blog. Thanks for posting.

  17. Hi, can you please provide the BPIPE documentation. I appreciate your help. Thank You

  18. Link exchange is nothing else however it is just placing the other person’s website link on your page at appropriate place
    and other person will also do similar for you.

  19. Now I am ready to do my breakfast, later than having my
    breakfast coming over again to read other news.

  20. Hello there I am so thrilled I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless I am here now
    and would just like to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all aat the moment but I have bookmarked it aand also added your
    RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    a lot more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  21. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you
    wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit,
    but instead of that, this is magnificent blog.
    An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

  22. If you wish for to grow your experience just keep visiting this web site and be updated with the newest information posted here.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.